h1

Beck: New Album!

May 29, 2006

“Beck has just completed his new album, which he’s been in the studio working on with producer Nigel Godrich. The album is due out this fall – check back here at beck.com soon for more information.”

What more can be said? It’s Beck. It’s freaking Beck. And he’s got another album after, what, less than two years? That’s pretty fudging good in my opinion. What confuses me is how he is completely done with the album and he made no indication (as far as I know) that he was ever even working on it, considering he is working with as big of a name as Nigel Godrich. But I think this is great. The last Beck album, Guero, still stands as my favorite album he has made, and yes, I have heard Odelay, so don’t reccomend it to me. Mutations is way up there too, maybe even above Odelay. The man is a genius, and I think it’s great that he’s putting out another record. He seems to not really plug along at a quick pace when it comes to releasing albums, but hey, if he’s got more material totally done this quick, then wow. I’m excited. And you can bet I’m going to pick this baby up on the day of release.

1. Elevator Music

2. I Think I’m In Love

3. Cell Phones Dead

4. Nausea

5. Soldier Jane

6. Strange Apparition

7. Dark Star

8. Movie Theme

9. We Dance Alone

10. No Complaints

11. 1000 BPM

12. Motorcade

13. The Information

14. New Round

15. Horrible Fanfare/Landslide/Exoskeleton

It’s going to be a more hip-hopy thing, which is fine, but if you want my opinion on it, it seems like theres way too much rapping and not enough singing. But you won’t hear me really truly complaining about anything that Beck releases anyway. I’ve heard a lot of the new songs. There are even videos for We Dance Alone ande I Think I’m In Love, and theres one coming for Cell Phones Dead too. The deal with the album art is, and this is straight from Becks mouth, it’s going to be a sticker thing. Like, it’s just a blank cover, and the album art is in stickers, so you can make your own. Pretty cool stuff.

2 comments

  1. do you mind if i comment here?


  2. Go for it.



Leave a Reply

