h1

10. Chairlift – Does You Inspire You

December 11, 2008

For the past month or two I have had close to no motivation whatsoever to write on this blog. I can’t really explain why, because I don’t know myself. The transition to college was probably jarring enough to do something in that department, and I have been very busy lately studying for finals. But within the past couple weeks my motivation to write has at least somewhat returned, and bears fruits in the departments of this blog as well as outside creative writing which has not seen the light of day yet. I’ve considering posting some of the creative works here, namely an elegy to a certain someone who died just outside of Paula Abdul’s house as well as a personal account of insanity from an individual due to being locked in a Gushers storage basement of a General Mills factory, but I have decided to not post either of them here, at least temporarily, for various reasons. They might end up here eventually. It depends. I’ve also been working on a top ten favorite albums of the year list, which I planned to post early next year, but I have decided to start posting the albums individually now because I don’t feel like waiting to post them, and I feel like my goals are contrasting enough on each individual review to merit doing them seperately. Also, I don’t feel like creating a hierarchy for them, although there is a certain #1 pick. I am going to start posting them here periodically within the next couple weeks.

-ATB

Chairlift - Does You Inspire You

I saw Yeasayer live in the Sixth and I Historic Synagogue in December and Chairlift opened. I would have payed the sixteen dollar admission just to see Chairlift for the twenty five minutes they played. Granted, Yeasayer’s set was worth at least a Benjamin, but there was something to be said for an opening band that really delivers the goods like that. I believe they brought the woman next to us to tears. I don’t know if they are THAT great, but they are a charming band with a lot of potential nonetheless. The first opening act was the rather dreadful Fang Island, which aimed to impress with dynamics, speed, and volume, and pretty much failed in all three respects. Chairlift seemed to utilize these three qualities with ease without feeling the need to conquer so much as befriend them. What particularly impressed me about their set was the ability to build something out of nothing. A prime example of this was their opening number Territory, which pulsed with bass blasts before spawning multi-instrumentalist Patrick Wimberly’s percussion, to be later accompanied by guitarist Aaron Pfenning’s space age guitar melody and vocalist Caroline Polachek’s airy lyrics. The slow progression was glazed by vintage organs and punctuated by a kickin’ cowbell solo, both from the vivacious Polachek. Interestingly enough, everyone on the stage seemed to draw the eye equally. While Polachek was either gesticulating wildly or delicately pointing her nose up at the giant Star of David on the wall behind, Wimberly was completely focused behind the drum kit, and Pfenning (oh, the hip scarf!) smiled as he occasionally chimed in with his melodic guitar sensibility. But despite all the good things I have to say about their live show, it is secondary to their songwriting. On their debut album, Does You Inspire You, Chairlift prove themselves to be much more than a one trick pony, that trick being their sleeper hit Bruises which gained popularity from being featured on an iPod Nano commercial. With that said, Bruises is one hell of a song, and perfectly represents the tiny, cute nature of the iPod Nano. “I tried to do handstands for you but every time I fell for you / I’m permanently black and blue, permanently blue for you.” How is that not utterly charming? What is surprising is that Bruises does not overshadow everything else on the album, which is loaded with really good songs and is not lopsided. Particularly good are the 80s disco-funk song Planet Health and the Yo La Tengo esque Somewhere Around Here. But Does You Inspire You covers many bases quite effectively: pop, soul, funk, electronic, dream pop, blues, country, and R&B to start the list. This eclecticism makes the album one of the most consistently interesting of the year, but they keep their curious personal charm throughout the genre hopping. Either Chairlift know exactly what they are doing or have no idea whatsoever, but in any case they seem to know exactly how to do it.

Chairlift

Leave a Reply

