h1

6. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

December 25, 2008

Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes

When I was thinking about what I could send my aunt in Kansas from college, I immediately thought of the Fleet Foxes album. There was something so utterly appropriate about the idea. I thought of visiting my aunt in Kansas, the gardens, plains, the ocean of trees, the wedding, the bag of helicopter maple seeds that she said was the grooviest gift my uncle had ever given to her, the abandoned watertower from which they were let loose, my uncle’s armory (yes, he makes armor), and times when distance between us was not so great. Fleet Foxes seemed to encompass all of this perfectly. So I walked out of my room, down the stairs, out the front door of my dorm, and twenty feet to the Starbucks across the street. I’ll admit, a transnational corporation with as much power and reach as Starbucks contrasts with the quaint, homely sounds of Fleet Foxes, but at the very least they are both “syrupy,” and they were selling hard copies of the album at the register. I have heard the entire album played all the way through several times while studying in Starbucks. My Starbucks is nice. It is the highest grossing Starbucks on the East coast, and yet it somehow manages to be the warmest and comfiest Starbucks I have been in. I study there often. My aunt, who is going to college in Kansas to become a teacher, is also a coffee house studier. Granted, hers sounds much cooler, but I feel like when I’m sitting in that Starbucks, studying and listening to Fleet Foxes, I am suddenly much closer to her. Listening to these songs is like taking a time machine to a simpler time and place. The past, present and future seem to be in harmony with one another. Fleet Foxes are quite a young band with much promise, and listening to their individual breed of ancient sounding sunny folk music is like watching a seed bud and grow into the oldest in the land in the span of one album. These songs seem to speak of legends passed through generations, the details of which have been shaped over time. Vocalist Robin Pecknold seems to need to repeat his words in each song, to sort through everything that has happened with as many smiles as tears. When I listen to this album in Starbucks, which happens frequently, I am keenly aware of the seasons outside and how my aunt in Kansas is going through the same changes and has been in the same place as I was at some point, and will be again soon enough. It’s not that I feel as if I am somewhere else, and I’m sure she still feels like she is in Kansas when she listens to it, but I feel at ease with where I am, which is an emotion far too many people, including myself, have forgotten.

Fleet Foxes

One comment

  1. Excellent article. I’ve never really discussed Fleet Foxes in terms of comfort, but I can really agree with that angle. My primary descriptor of their album is “timeless,” as I cannot quickly define the first time I heard their songs. The album works just as well in the summer (when I first got the disk) as in winter (providing a fine warmth). I really hope they keep up this great stuff.



Leave a Reply

