h1

Rilo Kiley – More Adventurous

February 24, 2009
Rilo Kiley - More Adventurous

Rilo Kiley - More Adventurous

I’ve always had a nagging feeling that everything I write about music could be destroyed with four words: “I don’t like this.” All the objective analysis I do of music really doesn’t matter when it comes down to personal taste. I barely ever listen to Rilo Kiley in my free time, because their style of music doesn’t interest me. I’m not much for their genre of “alt-country” that I have heard them described as, although they are probably beyond being pinned in a particular genre at this point. And yet every time I have listened to any of their albums or seen them live, I’ve had my ass kicked. As far as the albums go, this is the one in particular that deserves the brownie points on merit alone of being the most literate and lyrically complex album that I can ever remember hearing, relentless and challenging in its content. Songs ask innumerable questions and provide evidence that can only lead the listener towards their own answers. Trains of thought double back before reaching conclusions, fairy tales of falling in and out of love are spun, and both life and death are celebrated and mourned. Musically this is the strongest disk in the bands catalogue and their strongest display of melodicism, every song memorable. This is an album that I simply could not dismiss how hard I tried, and it didn’t take too long before I didn’t care to anymore. At the first Rilo Kiley concert I went to, I felt like I was the only one not singing along or dancing to the band’s fun, rocking songs. I believe somewhere around the end of the show, Jenny Lewis looked in my direction and may have winked at that sorry looking teenager in the third row (or at least my sorry teenage ass would have wished to believe), before singing another breathtaking chorus. The ride home was at this point was not unfamiliar to my experiences of listening to a Rilo Kiley album. It feels good to be idiosyncratic. I do love this.

Rilo Kiley

Rilo Kiley

Leave a Reply

